Top Ten Tuesday- a wish list

6 Comments

ttt1

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke & the Bookish. It’s awesome. Every Tuesday, the lovely ladies over there give us book bloggers wonderful and fun topics to create our lists! Check out what others have posted by going over there!

http://brokeandbookish.blogspot.com

This week’s topic is-

Well- it is supposed to be Top Ten Debut Novels I am Looking forward to, but since I usually don’t even know when I am reading a debut novel, I find it hard to look forward to any.

Instead I am going to do an older topic that I never did –

Top Ten Books I’d want on a deserted island with me

Most of the books I picked are pretty long, since I will have so much time on my hands

Books I have read before and LOVE-

1.Gone With the Wind

2.  Pride & Prejudice

3.  The Lord of the Rings Trilogy

4.  The Harry Potter Series

5. The Silmarillion

Books I have NOT read before but really want to (and will be forced to on a deserted island)

6.  Out of Africa

7.  East of Eden

8.  The Count of Monte Cristo

9.  Wuthering Heights

10.  The Complete Works of William Shakespeare

(I have actually read a few of his plays, but not much)

What’s on my fall TBR? A Top Ten List

11 Comments

ttt1

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke & the Bookish. It’s awesome. Every Tuesday, the lovely ladies over there give us book bloggers wonderful and fun topics to create our lists! Check out what others have posted by going over there!

http://brokeandbookish.blogspot.com

This week’s topic is-

Top Ten Books on my Fall TBR List

1.This Little Life by Hanya Yanighara

One of the books on the Booker Man short list.

2.  The Lake House by Kate Morton

Love the author!

3. Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith

I am loving this series.

4. Go Set A Watchman by Harper Lee

Still on the TBR

5. Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace

I am actually a little afraid to tackle this- maybe a better winter book?

6. The Hot Zone by Richard Preston

This was the book club pick at the school my kids go to.  Should be interesting since the host is a science teacher.

7. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

I still haven’t read this!

8.  She’s Not There by P.J. Parrish

I just read a review and it looks fun.

9.  A Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler

-another Booker Man short list book

10. East of Eden by John Steinbeck

(this seems to be eternally on my TBR)

Fictional Bookworms- a Top Ten List

7 Comments

ttt2jpg

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke & the Bookish. It’s awesome. Every Tuesday, the lovely ladies over there give us book bloggers wonderful and fun topics to create our lists! Check out what others have posted by going over there!

http://brokeandbookish.blogspot.com

This week’s topic is

Top Ten Characters that are Book Nerds

1.  Hermione Granger from the Harry Potter series

2.  Jo March from Little Women

3.  Scout Finch from To Kill a Mockingbird

4.  Elizabeth Bennet from Pride & Prejudice

5.  Matilda Wormwood from Matilda

6.  A.J. Fiery from The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry

7.  Daniel Sempere and 8. Fermin Romero de Torres from The Shadow of the Wind

9.  Liesyl Meminger from The Book Thief

10.  Anne Wilkes from Misery

I Can’t Wait! A Top Ten List

6 Comments

ttt2jpg

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke & the Bookish. It’s awesome. Every Tuesday, the lovely ladies over there give us book bloggers wonderful and fun topics to create our lists! Check out what others have posted by going over there!

http://brokeandbookish.blogspot.com

This week’s topic is

Top Ten Mostly Anticipated New Releases

1.  Go Set A Watchman by Harper Lee

Go Set a Watchman features many of the characters from To Kill a Mockingbird some twenty years later. Returning home to Maycomb to visit her father, Jean Louise Finch—Scout—struggles with issues both personal and political, involving Atticus, society, and the small Alabama town that shaped her.

1.  Finders Keepers by Stephen King

A masterful, intensely suspenseful novel about a reader whose obsession with a reclusive writer goes far too far—a book about the power of storytelling, starring the same trio of unlikely and winning heroes King introduced in Mr. Mercedes.

3.  Rogue Lawyer by John Grisham

Sebastian Rudd is one of John Grisham’s most colorful, outrageous, and vividly drawn characters yet. Gritty, witty, and impossible to put down, Rogue Lawyer showcases the master of the legal thriller at his very best.

4.  No Better Friend by Robert Weintraub

Flight technician Frank Williams and Judy, a purebred pointer, met in the most unlikely of places: a World War II internment camp in the Pacific. Judy was a fiercely loyal dog, with a keen sense for who was friend and who was foe, and the pair’s relationship deepened throughout their captivity. When the prisoners suffered beatings, Judy would repeatedly risk her life to intervene. She survived bombings and other near-death experiences and became a beacon not only for Frank but for all the men, who saw in her survival a flicker of hope for their own.

5.  The Rumor by Elin Hildebrand

A friendship is tested in this irresistible page-turner from New York Times bestselling author Elin Hilderbrand. 

6.  The Girl in the Spider’s Web by David Lagercrantz

In this adrenaline-charged thriller, genius-hacker Lisbeth Salander and journalist Mikael Blomkvist face a dangerous new threat and must again join forces. 

7.  Eight Hundred Grapes by Laura Dave

A breakout novel from an author who “positively shines with wisdom and intelligence” (Jonathan Tropper, This Is Where I leave You). “Laura Dave writes with humor and insight about relationships in all their complexity, whether she’s describing siblings or fiancés or a couple long-married. Eight Hundred Grapesis a captivating story about the power of family, the limitations of love, and what becomes of a life’s work”

8.  The Truth According to Us by Anne Barrow

From the co-author of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society comes a wise, witty, and exuberant novel, perfect for fans of Lee Smith, that illuminates the power of loyalty and forgiveness, memory and truth, and the courage it takes to do what’s right






I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read It! A Top Ten List

15 Comments

ttt2jpg

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke & the Bookish. It’s awesome. Every Tuesday, the lovely ladies over there give us book bloggers wonderful and fun topics to create our lists! Check out what others have posted by going over there!

http://brokeandbookish.blogspot.com

This week’s topic is-

Top Ten Books I can’t believe I haven’t read in X genre.  I know I am really sounding redundant, but I pick the top ten Classics I am ashamed I haven’t read yet-

1,  Wuthering Heights-sitting on my bookshelf

2.  East of Eden– also sitting there.

3.  The Bell Jar– is right next to East of Eden

4.  1984- on my Kindle

5.  A Farewell to Arms– Kindle also

6.  The Count of Monte Cristo– on bookshelf too

7.  The Picture of Dorian Gray

8.  Mrs. Dalloway

9.  The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

10.  And Then There Were None– I will have to search my son’s room for this one.

This is a pitiful list- especially since I actually OWN most of these.  What books can you not believe you haven’t read yet?

Top Ten Books I missed in 2014

14 Comments

ttt2jpg

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke & the Bookish. It’s awesome. Every Tuesday, the lovely ladies over there give us book bloggers wonderful and fun topics to create our lists! Check out what others have posted by going over there!

http://brokeandbookish.blogspot.com

This week’s topic is

Top Ten 2014 Releases I meant to Read But Didn’t

1.  All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

2.  Gray Mountain by John Grisham

3.  Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult

4.  The Martian by Andy Weir

5.  Landline by Rainbow Rowell

6.  Mrs. Hemmingway by Naomi wood

7.  Nora Webster  by Colm Toibin

8.  The Magician’s Lie by

9.  Lost Lake by Greer Macallaster

10.  Natchez  by Greg Iles

 

What books did you miss?

Top Ten Books on my shelf that have been waiting too long

13 Comments

ttt2jpg

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke & the Bookish. It’s awesome. Every Tuesday, the lovely ladies over there give us book bloggers wonderful and fun topics to create our lists! Check out what others have posted by going over there!

http://brokeandbookish.blogspot.com

Hello All!  This is my first new post of 2015 (that I didn’t write and schedule in 2014)

Today’s topic was supposed to be top ten debuts I was looking forward to, but I couldn’t seem to get my head around it.  I wasn’t going to post at all, but then I found a couple of books that I bought the day after Christmas, and when I went to put them on a shelf, I realized I had SO many others just sitting there that I hadn’t read.  So, I decided to come up with a list of books I am hoping to read this year, that have been sitting on my shelf way too long.  Between the loveliness of ARCs, my obsession with my local library, and the damned ease of downloading onto my kindle, these babies have been languishing on my shelf.

1.  The Bell Jar

2.  Wuthering Heights

3.  The Count of Monte Cristo

4.  East of Eden

5.  The Alchemist

6.  Dolores Clairborne

7.  The Fountainhead

8.  Outlander

9.  Needful Things

10.  A Hundred Summers

So, which would you recommend?

I don’t know why I have ignored them for so long, though in fairness, #s 3, 6, 8, and 9 have such small print that I have to find really strong reading glasses first!

What books have you ignored?