The Never List- a review

11 Comments

16158525

The Never List

by Koethi Zan

published by Wheeler Publishing

2013

I read a copy of this book that I borrowed from my library.

Summary

For years, best friends Sarah and Jennifer kept what they called the “Never List”: a list of actions to be avoided, for safety’s sake, at all costs. But one night, against their best instincts, they accept a cab ride with grave, everlasting consequences. For the next three years, they are held captive with two other girls in a dungeon-like cellar by a connoisseur of sadism.

Ten years later, at thirty-one, Sarah is still struggling to resume a normal life, living as a virtual recluse under a new name, unable to come to grips with the fact that Jennifer didn’t make it out of that cellar. Now, her abductor is up for parole and Sarah can no longer ignore the twisted letters he sends from jail.

Finally, Sarah decides to confront her phobias and the other survivors—who hold their own deep grudges against her. When she goes on a cross-country chase that takes her into the perverse world of BDSM, secret cults, and the arcane study of torture, she begins unraveling a mystery more horrifying than even she could have imagined.

A shocking, blazingly fast read, Koethi Zan’s debut is a must for fans of Karin Slaughter, Laura Lippman, and S.J. Watson. (from Goodreads)

My Review

When I read a few reviews of this book, I was hesitant to read it because of the dark material. I like suspense, but the premise of women being kidnapped, raped and torture d for years is a little beyond what I normally enjoy reading, especially after the whole horror of what happened in Cleveland.  However, most reviews I did read were positive, so I decided to try it.  I am glad I did, as this was a very well written book.  The author did not feel the need to make the disturbing parts extremely graphic, instead allowed the reader to figure out what happened using just a few words or phrases.  As it was, it was enough to make me extremely uncomfortable at times.  This book, while well written, deals with a very tough topic.  I enjoyed the characters, especially Tara.  While I thought Sarah was pretty awesome too, her transformation seemed a little unlikely to me.   The only reason I did not really love this book honestly was the ending.  It all seemed a to tie up too neatly and quickly.  If you are looking for an engaging, quick read, and can handle the subject matter, I would recommend this book.

Rating 3.5 out of 5

Advertisements

11 thoughts on “The Never List- a review

  1. I literally just wrote my review for this book last night! But it seemed like you enjoyed it more than I did — I had a few more critiques. However, like you, I wasn’t a fan of the too-perfect ending. Look for my review for it next week!

  2. Even if I wasn’t as averse to suspense-type novels as I already am, I really don’t think I would want to read this. It seems painfully manipulative, especially if the ending is too pat.

  3. It sounds interesting… but I don’t know if I would like Sarah. Obviously it sounds like she’s put through some really traumatic stuff, but I’m already wondering why she’s ignoring threatening letters from him while he’s in jail. Wouldn’t you just alert the authorities to make sure he never got out? Hmph.

  4. I’ve been interested in reading this, and I’m glad to know that it is both well-written and that the disturbing content is not overly graphic.

  5. Pingback: October Finds | Lipsyy Lost & Found

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s